Chapter Officers

Our President, Brett Sharp, Ph.D., is a professor of political science and public administration at the University of Central Oklahoma. Previously he served as Employment Manager for the City of Oklahoma City and Agency Services Coordinator for the State of Oklahoma. He has authored several books and journal articles.  He has been a member of ASPA for 30 years and once served as the Oklahoma Chapter president. Brett has received awards for teaching, scholarship, and research.  In 2020 the Oklahoma Chapter awarded Brett its Distinguished Public Service Award.

Our Treasurer, Aimee Franklin, Ph.D., is a Presidential Professor in the Political Science Department at the University of Oklahoma. She teaches strategic planning, budgeting, financial management, program measurement and evaluation, public policy analysis, and research methods. Her scholarly interests include stakeholder engagement in resource allocation decisions, Indian and commercial gaming expansion, and financial controls. Before returning to the academic world, she ran retail and mortgage banking firms and was an analyst for Arizona governors. She earned her doctoral degree from the State University of New York.

Our former president, Steve Housel, Ph.D., has worked as a businessman, radio broadcaster, teacher, and professor. He owned and managed a famous Tulsa restaurant, served as a broadcaster with seven radio statations, taught American History in a public high school, and taught American Government at Rogers State University.  Steve has co-authored journal articles, book chapters, and a college textbook.  His scholarly work has also included presentations at local, regional, and national conferences.  He has been a member of ASPA for 30 years and once served as the Oklahoma Chapter president.